Mui Ne, Vietnam

P1050057_mh1421169322796

In 2009, I went to back to my roots, Vietnam. I’ve travelled every corner of the country since my huge family was dispersed everywhere. One of the place I visited was Mui Ne. My uncles and aunts from my mother’s side of the family decided to go there for a mini family trip since one of my uncles was a head chef in one of those fancy resorts. You can say Mui Ne is a hidden gem of Vietnam. You would expect a ton of tourists where the beaches are but the area was relatively quiet.

P1050038_mh1421169430762 P1050039_mh1421169398056

We stayed at Blue Ocean Resort and the food there amazing. Compliments to the chef! The staff was lovely and we had a whole section of the beach to ourselves. I felt so rich with our own “private” beach. Of course, it only happened because my uncle was an important member of the team, nonetheless, it was still awesome. We even had a private pool. I think people call it a “family bungalow”. As I mentioned before, it was relatively quiet. During our stay, I roamed around the resort and there were only a few people in. But it’s probably because the rest of the tourists were in a cheaper hotel. However, if you do have the money, I definitely recommend Blue Ocean Resort!

P1050131_mh1421169266827

When people think of Vietnam, the things that come to their minds are probably; hot weather, coconuts, beaches, pho, motorcycles, etc. But I’m pretty sure they would never expect to find a desert. Yup, there’s a mini desert in Mui Ne. It’s not tiny, but compared to the Sahara, it’s tiny. Where there is snow, people go snow sledding. Where there is a desert, people go sand sledding? Indeed, there were quite many who were doing that. It looked extremely fun sliding down the sandy hill, but going back up is an other story.

 I had such a hard time walking around in the desert. My dumb self thought it would be like walking on the beach but I was so wrong. It was 50x harder. And it was so hot. Everything was hot; the sand, the air, my breathing, my hair, my glasses, everything. However, it was still nice. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to experience the desert without dying.

P1050202_mh1421169120955

So you rode a horse or a camel? Bitch please, I rode an ostrich. I was on a bird! Now how many people do you know who rode on a friken bird. That’s right, not many. Or even none! My life was flashing before my eyes. I don’t know who came up with the idea, but that person is crazy. The ostrich kept glaring at me and turning his head towards me. It was so scary. I thought he was going to poke my head with his beak. And he was running so fast! I almost fell a few times! I don’t know where else you can do this, probably somewhere in Africa or in Australia, but you can do it in Mui Ne for sure. It’s definitely a once in a lifetime experience. But I don’t know who would want to do this though.

One thought on “Mui Ne, Vietnam

Leave a Reply

